EPA’s ENERGY STAR® Guidelines for New Homes


What is ENERGY STAR?logo_EnergyStar

ENERGY STAR for homes is a voluntary national labeling program sponsored by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), intended to promote energy efficiency. The ENERGY STAR website can be accessed at www.energystar.gov/.

Anyone building new single-family homes or multi-family units up to 3 stories in height can participate. This includes homeowners, builders, and developers. ENERGY STAR labels are only awarded to homes that have been independently verified to be at least 15% more efficient than the standard mandated by the relevant energy codes.

Growing consumer demand has prompted MLS databases to include “ENERGY STAR” as a searchable term when filtering results for homebuyers and most appraisals now include information on energy efficiency.

In 2011, occupants of ENERGY STAR homes reportedly saved more than $493 million on energy bills and avoided greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to those from over 526,000 vehicles. In 2012, over 3,200 builders participated in the program, constructing more than 100,000 ENERGY STAR certified homes.

Why build energy-efficient homes?

Although slashing utility bills remains the most tangible and marketable benefit for program participation, energy-efficient homes also increase occupant comfort, improve indoor air quality, and conserve vital natural resources. Energy-efficiency is generally accomplished by tightening up the building shell and installing more efficient building components.

Learn more about ENERGY STAR

We would love to tell you more about ENERGY STAR and the real money
and energy saving power of energy-efficient buildings!
Give us a call at (865) 919-7464. or contact us online